The Results May Vary

Observations from my Mixed Up World

Milo upgrades his family… temporarily.

Leave a comment

My dear and patient friends will recall from a previous post that my son, Milo signed with an agency to do modeling work.  To our surprise, he was asked to be in a photo shoot for a national chain of resorts before his head shots were even available.  We enthusiastically agreed and just a few days ago, Milo worked his first job.  Child labour laws be damned.  He had a great time.

The part that I found most amusing and muse worthy was his new family.  This is a family resort so it goes to reason that the photo shoot would feature a family.  Let me tell you… the upgraded version of me is pretty great.  My height increased from 5’7″ to 6’2″.  The cropped military style hair cut grew out to curly shoulder length locks.  I don’t want to speculate on what ever else may have lengthened!  Milo’s upgraded mom grew at least 10 inches and looked even more unlikely to have 2 kids than she normally does.  Despite the fact that he gained another sister, Milo found them both to be fun, easy to get along with and in a slightly incestuous way, nicer to look at.

It was kind of odd to see another “mom” and “dad” smiling and encouraging my son.  Even weirder to see arms casually draped across his shoulders or for them to receive spontaneous hugs of thanks.  Not that I’m jealous.  Given how great the new me looked and how patient and caring he looked in the photos, I’d want a hug too.  But suffice to say, it’s odd to watch.

Once the shoot was over and the upgraded family congenially divorced, we were given free run of the resort for the rest of the day.  My hug came half way up a set of stairs when Milo stopped suddenly, turned around and said, “Dad, this was the best day of my life.  I’m so thankful that I have you and mommy and you let me do this.”

Who needs to feel jealous or weird with that?

Author: theresultsmayvary

Civil Servant Dad is a Gen-Y married father of 2 kids. He blogs about the perils, ethical and moral quandries and downright crazy challenges faced in raising them.

Share some brilliance with us:

